Back to mainpage
FRANKIE AND JOHNNY - BMG 82876 53370 2
Recording By Elvis 1965


Frankie And Johnny

 1. Review by Oven Egeland
Updated soundtrack

 1: Frankie And Johnny
 2: Come Along
 3: Petunia, The Gardeners Daughter
 4: Chesay
 5: What Every Woman Lives For
 6: Look Out, Broadway
 7: Beginner's Luck
 8: Down By The Riverside/When The Saints Go Marching In
 9: Shout It Out
10: Hard Luck
11: Please Don't Stop Loving Me
12: Everybody Come Aboard
13: Frankie And Johnny (1) [Out In Hollywood]
14: Please Don't Stop Loving Me (10) [Today, Tomorrow And Forever]
15: Everybody Come Aboard (1, 2)
16: Chesay (1)
17: Petunia, The Gardeners Daughter (2)
18: Look Out, Broadway (3, 4, 5)
19: Please Don't Stop Loving Me (1, 2, 3)
20: Shout It Out (1, 2, 3)
21: Everybody Come Aboard (9, 10)
22: Chesay (3, 6)
23: Look Out, Broadway (6, 7, 8)
24: Petunia, The Gardeners Daughter (5)
25: Please Don't Stop Loving Me (7)
26: Frankie And Johnny (3, 4)
27: Frankie And Johnny (Movie version) [Acetate]

Tracks in green denotes previously unreleased takes (officially).

Available on bootlegs:
All tracks are available on The Complete Frankie And Johnny Sessions
Most tracks available on With A Song In My Heart.

"Dixieland Sucks?"
(Review by Oven Egeland)

This updated soundtrack album of Frankie And Johnny is presented in the same manner as the previously 3 updated soundtrack album; Girl Happy, Fun In Acapulco and finally It Happened At The World's Fair. The CD is housed in a colorful gatefold pack with appropriate pictures and necessary information. Inside you will also find a booklet telling more about the movie and the soundtrack. A nice delivery!

After the original LP soundtrack, you will find 15 bonus tracks, 13 of which has never been released officially before. On the other hand this material have been released already on great sounding bootlegs. Only the acetate of the movie master is "new" for the avid Elvis collector.

The sound quality is very good all the way through and of course better than on these high quality bootlegs mentioned above. I acknowledge the mxing work done by BMG.

Frankie And Johnny was, perhaps next to Harum Scarum a movie where Elvis sang music quite outside his ordinary repertoire. Dixieland music isn't my cup of tea, perhaps not Elvis' either, but all the same it is nice to hear him sing these tunes. Some of the songs are catchy, like 'Petunia The Gardeners Daughter', the gipsy 'Cheesay' and even 'Everybody Come Aboard'. The several ballads are all beautiful, the emotions are in fact enhanced by the dry vocal recording technique used. Especially take 7 of 'Please Don't Stop Loving Me' stands out above the rest. I wonder why this was not chosen as master!?

Unfortunately the CD does not offer any outtakes of 'What Every Woman Lives For' or 'Beginner's Luck'. They are still lost from the archives. For some reasons the intro on 'Beginner's Luck' has been axed on this release.

I would recommend this CD whether you like the music or not. Such dedication from FTD should be supported!

© , Norway, January 2004
Go Back to Follow That Dream
Go Back to BMG news

Main Menu
Official News
Import News
Session Notes
Autumn 1974
June 1975
Summer 1976
Complete 1977