Back to mainpage
HOT AUGUST NIGHT - SONY 506020 975062
Recordings 1969

Las Vegas, Aug 25 1969 MS

Blue Suede Shoes [master]
I Got A Woman (*)
All Shook Up [master]
Love Me Tender (*)
Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel (*)
Heartbreak Hotel [master*]
Hound Dog [master]
I Can't Stop Loving You [master]
My Babe [master]
Mystery Train/Tiger Man [master]
Baby What You Want Me To Do (*)
Runaway (*)
Are You Lonesome Tonight (*)
Words [master]
Yesterday/Hey Jude (*)
In The Ghetto [Writing For The King]
Suspicious Minds (*)
What'd I Say [master*]
Can't Help Falling In Love (*)

* denotes prev. unreleased
Everything is right with this release. One of the best concert Elvis performed ever. One of the best audio quality ever. Both sonic- and mixing wise!

Elvis is in healthy good mood, singing dedicated and energetic. Glimpse of full blown stand-up comedian and proud to be on stage while he introduce Tom Jones (as Thomas!), Nancy Sinatra and Shelly Fabares and others.

Only a way too long humming and jamming on 'Hey Jude' drags down a little, but thats "skippable". I really like the long intro to 'Suspiciuous Minds'...these 1969 versions really have an edge not found anytime later. It only took another season in Vegas to rush it out of the soul/blues segment. A pity, but all the more valuable to have these 1969 recordings in such a great sound.

It deserves the 7" package it comes in. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Back to Follow That Dream...
Back to BMG news...

Main Menu
Official News
Import News
Session Notes
Autumn 1974
June 1975
Summer 1976
Complete 1977