Back to mainpage
STAGE REHEARSAL - SONY 506020 975026
Recordings By Elvis 1970 Recordings By Elvis 1972Recordings By Elvis 1973


Las Vegas 1970, 1972 and 1973

 1: You Don't Have To Say You Love Me (# 1)
 2: I Just Can't Help Believing
 3: Something
 4: Sweet Caroline
 5: Polk Salad Annie (# 1 / #2) [Spliced and edited]
 6: You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' (# 1)
 7: I've Lost You
 8: Bridge Over Troubled Water
 9: Patch It Up
10: Can't Help Falling In Love
11: You Don't Have To Say You Love Me (# 2)
12: You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' (# 2)
13: Any Day Now (Aug. 2 1972)
14: True Love Travels On A Gravel Road (Aug. 3 1972)
15: The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (excerpts) (Aug. 3 1972)
16: Fever (Aug. 3 1972)
17: Portrait Of My Love (Aug. 3 1972)
18: I'm Leavin' It All Up To You (Jan. 25 1973)
The sound quality is great, but too many edits are evident. Among them are a hopeless vocal edit on 'Polk Salad Annie' (Polk A Little Sock Salad'). You can still hear Elvis talking about "overweight little woman etc...", but it is only a bleed from other microphones. This vocal edit is utterly pathetic, really!! What's the harm!? FTD is obviously going for the old Parker - good clean fellow - philosophy! I'm embarresed by this, really!

Songs that are incomplete from start are patched together with a live take of the same song, with audience reaction and everything. And it do so NOT WORK. Most annoying is 'Something', but also two versions of 'You've Lost That Loving Feeling' have lost their charm with the same opening sample on both takes... Ouch!! Can it be Vic Anesini who has butchered it like this? (However, it is technically perfect!)

Anyway, one of the most sought after albums, has effectively been reduced to - only - a good sounding, but poorly produced CD. A shame!

Previously two songs from this event have been out, both 'You've Lost That Loving Feeling' and 'Sweet Caroline' was first found on Elvis Aron Presley released in 1980. 'You've Lost That Loving Feeling' was actually a spliced version of "take 1 and 2".

After the August 1970 rehearsal, some songs from 1972 and 1973 (also Las Vegas rehearsal) are added. All have been bootlegged, but the fidelity is slightly better here.

Back to Follow That Dream...
Back to BMG news...

Main Menu
Official News
Import News
Session Notes
Autumn 1974
June 1975
Summer 1976
Complete 1977