Back to mainpage


Las Vegas, August 21 1970 (M.S)

01. Opening Vamp (0:31)
02. That's All Right, Mama (1:57)
03. I Got A Woman/Ave Maria (excerpt)/I Got A Woman (3:49)
04. Tiger Man (1:27)
05. Monologue (3:14)
06. Love Me Tender (w/ false start) (5:03)
07. I've Lost You (3:40)
08. Cryin' Time (w/ false start, first live version) (0:39)
09. I Just Can't Help Believin' (4:53)
10. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' (with false start) (4:50)
11. Polk Salad Annie (4:14)
12. Band Introductions (1:11)
13. Johnny B. Goode (1:45)
14. Band Introductions (continued) (2:02)
15. Celebrity Introductions (1:29)
16. The Wonder Of You (1:52)
17. Along Came Jones (excerpt) (0:43)
18. Heartbreak Hotel (with 2 false starts, short version) (1:08)
19. One Night (1:34)
20. All Shook Up (2 false starts only) (0:17)
21. Blue Suede Shoes/Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On/Blue Suede Shoes (1:44)
22. Hound Dog (1:48)
23. Bridge Over Troubled Water (4:49)
24. Suspicious Minds (6:32)
25. Can't Help Falling In Love (1:50)
26. Closing Vamp (0:13)
27. Oh Happy Day (14.08.70 M.S.) (2:24)
28. When The Snow Is On The Roses (w/ 2 false starts, 24.08.70 D.S.) (1:52)

Total playing time: 67:30

Content: 5  Sound: 3  Artwork: 5

Earlier shows from both August 19 (Double Dynamite [1998]) and August 20 (Dinner Date With Elvis [1991], Midnight Inspirations [1994] have been released. The dinner show on August 21 was released some years ago on From Vegas To Macon [1998]. This release marks the last release of the recording made by Rick Rennie in August 1970.

All these recordings have sound quality way above average for such audience recordings. This particular is perhaps the best of them.

Booklet notes:

Essay by Rick Rennie:
Of my Vegas visit from August 19-21, 1970 two shows stand out above the six I went to, although all were great. The two were the first show and this one from the 21st where Elvis sang "Cryin' Time", but for very different reasons. The first was because it was the only time I ever saw Elvis booed by his audience to get on with the show. This one was mainly because I was seated at a table with some very lively young girls who contributed to the overall excitement of the show. Elvis was also particularly good that night and did a fairly long show. He was wearing the white jumpsuit with round metal discs and a few tassels hanging from his belt that he wore often in TTWII. In the show from the 19th he wore a black jumpsuit and he also comments about that during the show. During the six shows I saw, Elvis began "You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'" wearing a gorilla mask twice, but on this night he did not. But he did clear his throat and begin again. The girls at my table commented that he was trying to sing like Bill Medley of The Righteous Brothers. They also recognized James Burton as the former lead guitarist for Ricky Nelson and said they had seen some of the group near the swimming pool earlier that day. When Elvis was jokingly speaking about using a very tiny guitar and a little shakey leg when he first started out, one of the girls yelled out "little bitty king" and I immediately thought that would be a good title for this show. I told the girls at my table that Elvis usually kissed women from the audience during "Love Me Tender" and they all lined up for them during the song. One hesitated, thinking it might make her boyfriend jealous, but eventually, she also went down for a kiss. They all could see that I was recording the show and gave me their home addresses to get copies later. Two of them sent me checks for copies. Elvis was at his best physically and performance-wise and at that time I had no thoughts that he ever would be any different. As an after thought, I can now tell he was under the influence of something on the 19th when he was booed, but at that time, those kind of thoughts never crossed my mind and even though he may have been "drugged", he put on a fabulous show both nights and for all of the shows in-between. He was more polished than he was the year before, or even the previous February, which I also attended and taped. I had no idea that MGM had just filmed shows for TTWII a few days earlier, but when I saw the new version, it immediately reminded me of my three day stay in August of 1970.

Sleeve notes:
The Audionics label is proud to present a complete, previously unreleased Elvis Presley show from Las Vegas on the 21st of August,1970, the midnight show. Elvis began his 3rd season on the 10th of August with a very innovative opening night that was filmed by the MGM crew and recorded by RCA for the "Elvis - That's The Way It Is" documentary. At least 6 shows from the 10th-13th of August were filmed/taped and the small amount of footage that was used in the movie proves that film was made also after the 13th of August, probably during the 14/08/70 dinner and midnight shows and maybe on other dates. After an experimental beginning, Elvis' appearances became more predictable, but with very well rehearsed and performed repertory, as our recording from the 2nd week of the season documents. Later, at the end of August, a few of the shows became somewhat shorter in running time and on closing night on the 7th of September, however 'good' the appearance as a whole was, it lasts for only a little bit disappointing 46 minutes. Very often during this season, Elvis mysteriously introduced "Tiger Man" as "the second record that I did" - did he record or sing this song at the Sun studio in 1954? Throughout the 4 weeks of the engagement, Elvis tried some 'rare' songs and some odd one-liners. Many of them were performed just once, including: "You Don't Know Me", "Folsom Prison Blues", "I Walk The Line", "Blueberry Hill", "Memphis Tennessee", "Sweet Inspiration", "Stranger In The Crowd", "The Next Step Is Love", "San Antonio Rose", "Cattle Call", "We Three", "More", "Holly, Holy" and "Spanish Eyes". On this CD, we bring you five of these rather 'unusual' moments: one line of "Ave Maria", a snatch of the Coasters song "Along Came Jones" and solid Elvis performances of 'live rarities' . "Cryin' Time" was originally recorded by Buck Owens in 1964. "When The Snow Is On The Roses" was recorded for the 1st time in 1967 by Ed Ames and the gospel song "Oh Happy Day", was a hit in 1969 for The Edwin Hawkins Singers. Tracks 01 - 26 are taken straight from the original mastertape, thus the sound quality is the best possible, in relation to 'battleground' recording conditions and amateur, but at that time sophisticated recording equipment. Tracks 27 and 28 are taken from very early generation tape copies, but their sound quality is somewhat less. We decided to include them, due to their high historic value and unique time context. All are previously unreleased recordings, except for tracks 08, 20, 21, 27 and 28 which have appeared on several unofficial LPs and CDs in the past, but none of them in this quality. All tracks are in stereo except for 27 and 28, which are mono recordings, digitally remastered to the ADD standard in April/May 2001, using the best up to date professional software and equipment. We tried to make the sound as good as possible for your listening pleasure, but with respect and without any unnatural modifying to the original source signal.

© Audionics label 2001-01

Main Menu
Official News
Import News
Session Notes
Autumn 1974
June 1975
Summer 1976
Complete 1977