Back to mainpage
THE HAMPTON ROADS CONCERT (TP04003) (Released 2004)

1.  Review by Oven Egeland
Hampton Roads, April 9 1972 E.S.

 1: Also Sprach Zarathustra
 2: See See Rider
 3: Until It's Time For You To Go
 4: Polk Salad Annie
 5: Love Me
 6: All Shook Up
 7: Teddy Bear/
 8: Don't Be Cruel
 9: Are You Lonesome Tonight
10: I Can't Stop Loving You
11: Hound Dog
12: Bridge Over Troubled Water
13: Suspicious Minds
14: For The Good Times
15: Band introductions
16: American Trilogy
17: Love Me Tender
18: A Big Hunk O' Love
19: How Great Thou Art
20: Sweet Sweet Spirit
21: Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
22: Can't Help Falling In Love
23: Closing Vamp

Content: 5+  Sound: 6  Artwork: 6

A Masterpiece!
(Review by Oven Egeland)

This is the third release from Triangle. For the first time they release a real CD and not CD-R as their previous two products.

This certainly is a smasher! Examining the cover makes me almost speechless, in desperate search for adequate adjectives. The CD is packed in what is a mini-copy of a 2-LP foldout cover. It comes with a full color booklet loaded with photos - all relevant - and suitable information. It's hard to imagine that it can get any better than this!

Even so, what matter most is the content. Inside you find a disc containing one of the greatest show ever recorded by RCA during Elvis' lifetime. Elvis' performance in Hampton Roads on April 9, 1972 is nothing but magnificent. Both performance wise and as regards content. Here Elvis sings a terrific 'See See Rider', a rocking 'I Got A Woman' and heartfelt version of 'Are You Lonesome Tonight'. Even more, Elvis has the Stamps to sing a tune by them self - 'Sweet Sweet Spirit' - while he just stands in awe of respect, before he launches into a great 'Lawdy, Miss Clawdy'. On this concert you will also find perhaps the best version ever of 'American Trilogy' and 'You Gave Me A Mountain and a breathtaking 'How Great Thou Art'. Still there are many other songs that could be mentioned.

As most people are aware of, this concert was filmed by MGM as a part of their "Elvis On Tour" production and recorded by RCA for a potential LP release. Eventually as many as 7 complete performances from this concert was issued on MGM's "Elvis On Tour". The LP release was abandoned by RCA because of the release of "As recorded in Madison Square Garden" on June the same year.

Later 5 other performances from Hampton Roads was included on the MGM video release "The Lost Performances".

The "rest" of the concert has been available on a bootleg CD called Live In Virginia from Vicky. The source for Live In Virginia was said to be the original "Elvis On Tour" recordings.

Triangle also mentions these recordings as their source for this new CD. However, the sound on "The Hampton Roads Concert" is greatly improved compared to the previous Live In Viginia. In fact this new product from Triangle hold extreme high class as far as sound goes. Even though it is in mono, the sound can best be compared with official releases from BMG. It is crystal clear, even and well balanced! Some might find it even better than on The Greensboro Concert, but it is all a matter of taste. The sound is quite similar, but perhaps the Greenboro show has a bit more depth to it?

Unfortunately this new release from Triangle does not contain the complete show. The same songs that were missing on the bootleg Live In Virginia are also unavailable here. This means that a great version of 'I Got A Woman' (as seen on MGM's Elvis On Tour) and equally splendid version of 'You Gave Me A Mountain (also seen on Elvis On Tour), together with an unheard version of 'Never Been To Spain' are gone. A crying shame, but we all expect BMG to take care of this later.

However, until BMG find it suitable to release this concert, I would - without a shred of doubt - recommend this CD. Whenever at stereo release of this great concert is available, I doubt you will ever find it housed in such a great package as The Hampton Roads Concert is.


© Oven Egeland, Elvis In Norway, December 22 2004.

Main Menu
Official News
Import News
Session Notes
Autumn 1974
June 1975
Summer 1976
Complete 1977